Skip to content

#PwDsVote Campaign Questionnaire: Call to Action

Washington, Sept. 7 – With just 61 days until Election Day, RespectAbility is calling on all candidates for governor or Senate to complete the #PwDsVote Senate & Gubernatorial Disability Questionnaire.“PwDs” stands for “people with disabilities.” So far, Hillary Clinton and 15 candidates for Senate or Governor from both parties have done so. Now we’re calling on you to help to encourage the remainder. A number of candidates, including Donald Trump, have yet to fill out a nonpartisan candidate questionnaire on issues vital to America’s 56 million citizens with disabilities!

Call and tweet candidates and demand that they respond to the questionnaire. Tell them why it’s important to you!

This is the first time down-ballot candidates have been asked to complete a questionnaire about disability-related issues on such a wide scale. Why are we focusing on candidates for governor and U.S. Senate? The reason is simple. We hope that voters who care about disability issues will have the opportunity to compare how the candidates responded to the same questions in their own words.

The questionnaire itself has been written in a way that is acceptable for 501c3 nonprofits, is nonpartisan and is not electioneering. RespectAbility is nonpartisan and does not endorse candidates. The questionnaire is purely for educational purposes.

The linked Excel list  (shown below with some information as well) includes candidates’ email addresses, phone numbers, appropriate contact person (where we could identify) and Twitter handles. When a candidate responds, the spreadsheet is updated in real-time to include a link to their responses that have been posted on The RespectAbility Report.

Early voting starts soon, and many members of the disability community vote absentee. The responses will be used for individualized state voter guides presenting answers from all candidates in their Senate and/or gubernatorial races. The RespectAbility Report also will be covering these races from a disability angle throughout the political season.

Sample Tweets (replace @ with the candidate’s Twitter handle):

  • @ Please fill out @Respect_Ability’s #PwDsVote disability questionnaire: bit.ly/PwDsVoteQ. We’re 20% of country!
  • @ Don’t ignore 1-in-5 Americans! Fill out @Respect_Ability’s #PwDsVote disability questionnaire: bit.ly/PwDsVoteQ

Non-Twitter Options

Call the candidates’ HQ or email their campaign office. Please find a table of contact information below, which is accurate as of Tuesday, September 6. The linked Excel document will be updated in real-time as candidates submit more responses or new contact information is shared.

Questions? 

Email Lauren Appelbaum: laurena@respectabilityusa.org.

Text in image: #PwDsVote 2016 Senate and Gubernatorial Disability Questionnaire, mage in background - two individuals at voting booths, one in a wheelchair and one using a white cane

Governor Races
(As of September 6, 2016 – will be updated throughout season)

State  Name Email Address Twitter Handle Response
Delaware – R Colin Bonini senator-colin@prodigy.net @colinbonini http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteBonini
Delaware – D John Carney jessica@johncarney.org @john_carney
Delaware – R Lacey Lafferty laceylaffertyforgov2016@gmail.com @laceylefferty
Indiana – D John Gregg jharris@greggforgovernor.com @GreggForGov
Indiana – R Eric Holcomb peteseat@holcombforindiana.com @HolcombForIN
Missouri – R Eric Greitens Press@EricGreitens.com @EricGreitens
Missouri – D Chris Koster dturner@chriskoster.com @Koster4Missouri http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteKoster
Montana – D Steve Bullock bullock@stevebullock.com @BullockForMT
Montana – R Greg Gianforte ron@gregformontana.com @GregForMontana
New Hampshire – D Mark Connolly markc@markconnollynh.com @MarkConnollyNH
New Hampshire – D Derek Dextraze governordextraze@gmail.com @derekdeztraze http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteDextraze
New Hampshire – R Frank Edelblut sarah@frankedelblut.com @EdelblutForGov
New Hampshire – R Jeanie Forrester Info@JeanieForrester.com @JeanieForrester
New Hampshire – R Ted Gatsas ted@tedgatsas.com @gatas4governor
New Hampshire – R Jon Lavoie jonathan11984@hotmail.com
New Hampshire – D Steve Marchand grant@stevemarchand.com @marchandsteve
New Hampshire – R Chris Sununu chris@chrissununu.com @ChrisSununu
New Hampshire – D Colin Van Ostern matt@vanostern.com @ColinVanOstern
North Carolina – D Roy Cooper info@roycooper.com @roycoopernc
North Carolina – R Pat McCrory info@patmccrory.com @PatMcCroryNC
North Dakota – R Doug Burgum teamdoug@dougburgum.com @DougForDakota
North Dakota – D Marvin Nelson nelsonfornd@outlook.com @nelsonfornd
Oregon – D Kate Brown chris@katebrownfororegon.com @KateBrownForOR
Oregon – R Bud Pierce info@budpierce.com @BudPierce4Gov
Utah – R Gary Herbert contact@garyherbert.com @HerbertForUtah
Utah – D Mike Weinholtz curtis@mikeforutah.com @mikeforutah
Vermont – D Sue Minter liz@sueminter.com @SueMinterVT
Vermont – R Phil Scott ethan@philscott.org @philscott4vt http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteScott
Washington – R Bill Bryant info@billbryantforgovernor.com @BillBryantWA
Washington – D Jay Inslee info@jayinslee.com @JayInslee
West Virginia – R Bill Cole rachel@billcoleforwv.com @BillColeWV
West Virginia – D Jim Justice info@justiceforwv.com @justiceforwv

Senate Races
(Candidates as of September 6, 2016 – will be updated throughout season)

State Name Email Address Twitter Handle Response
Alabama – R Richard Shelby info@shelbyforsenate.com @SenShelby
Alabama – D Ron Crumpton crumpton_for_alabama@outlook.com @Crumpton_US_Sen
Alaska – R Lisa Murkowski campaign@lisamurkowski.com @lisamurkowski
Alaska – D Ray Metcalfe @Ray4AKSenate
Arizona – R John McCain info@johnmccain.com @TeamMcCain
Arizona – D Ann Kirkpatrick info@kirkpatrickforsenate.com @ann_kirkpatrick
Arkansas – R John Boozman info@boozman.com @boozman4AR
Arkansas – D Conner Eldridge graham@connerforarkansas.com @connerforar
California – D Kamala Harris info@kamalaharris.org @KamalaHarris
California – D Loretta Sanchez maria@loretta.org @Loretta2016
Colorado – D Michael Bennet claire@bennetforcolorado.com @BennetForCO
Colorado – R Darryl Glenn katey@electdarrylglenn.com @darrylglenn2016
Connecticut – D Richard Blumenthal conner@richardblumenthal.com @SenBlumenthal
Connecticut – R Dan Carter info@CarterforSenate.com @dancarterct
Florida – D Patrick Murphy info@MurphyforFlorida.com @PatrickMurphyFL
Florida – R Marco Rubio sutton_truluck@rubio.senate.gov @marcorubio
Florida – R (lost primary) Dwight Young dwightyoung4senate@gmail.com @dy4senate2016 http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteYoung
Georgia – R Johnny Isakson info@johnnyisakson.com  @JohnnyIsakson
Georgia – D Jim Barksdale Info@JimBarksdale.com @jimbarksdale
Hawaii – D Brian Schatz info@brianschatz.com @brianschatz
Hawaii – R John Caroll info@carroll4senate.com @carroll4senate
Idaho – R Mike Crapo info@crapoforsenate.com @crapo4senate
Idaho – D Jerry Sturgill info@sturgill4senate.com @sturgill4idaho
Illinois – D Tammy Duckworth media@tammyduckworth.com @tammyforIL
Illinois – R Mark Kirk press@kirkforsenate.com @markkirk
Indiana – D Evan Bayh lexi@joeforindiana.com @EvanBayh
Indiana – R Todd Young jay@toddyoung.org @ToddYoungIN
Iowa – R Chuck Grassley jack.hellie@grassleyworks.com @ChuckGrassley
Iowa – D Patty Judge info@pattyjudgeforiowa.com @pattyforiowa
Kansas – R Jerry Moran info@moranforkansas.com @moranforkansas
Kansas – D Patrick Wiesner info@wiesnerforsenate.com @wiesner4senate
Kentucky – R Rand Paul s.farmer@randpaul2016.com @RandPaul2016
Kentucky – D Jim Gray grace@grayforkentucky.com @grayforKentucky
Louisiana – R Charles Boustany kevin@charlesboustany.com @cboustanyjr
Louisiana – D Foster Campbell ncampbell99@fostercampbell2016.com @campbellforLa http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteCampbell
Louisiana – R Joseph Cao tonytran@caolawfirm.com
Louisiana – D Caroline Fayard don@carolinefayard.com @FayardforSenate http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteFayard
Louisiana – R John Fleming info@flemingforla.com @FlemingforLA
Louisiana – R John Kennedy hq@johnkennedy.com @JohnKennedyLA
Louisiana – R Rob Maness john@robmaness.com @RobManess
Louisiana – R Abhay Patel will@patelforlouisiana.com @patelforLA http://bit.ly/PwDsVotePatel
Louisiana – D Josh Pellerin info@pellerinsenate.com
Maryland – R Kathy Szeliga leslie@kathyformaryland.com @KathyforMD http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteSzeliga
Maryland – D Chris Van Hollen sarah@vanhollen.org @VanHollenForMD http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteVanHollen
Missouri – R Roy Blunt info@royblunt.com @RoyBluntMO
Missouri – D Jason Kander info@jasonkander.com @JasonKander
Nevada – R Joe Heck brian@drjoeheck.com @heck4nevada
Nevada – D Catherine Masto bridget@catherinecortezmasto.com @catherinefornv http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteMasto
New Hampshire – R Kelly Ayotte info@kellyfornh.com @KellyAyotte
New Hampshire – D Maggie Hassan aaron@maggiehassan.com @Maggie_Hassan
New York – D Chuck Schumer info@chuckschumer.com @chuckschumer
New York – R Wendy Long campaign@wendylong.com @wendylongny
North Carolina – R Richard Burr ajohnson@burrforsenate.com @burrforsenate http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteBurr
North Carolina – D Deborah Ross erika@deborahross.com @deborahrossnc http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteRoss
North Dakota – R John Hoeven info@hoevenforsenate.com @hoeven4senate
North Dakota – D Eliot Glassheim :info@Eliot4ND.com @eliot4nd
Ohio – R Rob Portman press@robportman.com @robportman
Ohio – D Ted Strickland press@TedStrickland.com @Ted_Strickland
Oklahoma – R James Lankford office@jameslankford.com @jameslankford
Oklahoma – D Mike Workman Workman4OK@gmail.com @workmanistan
Oregon – D Ron Wyden campaign@wydenforsenate.com @wydenfororegon
Oregon – R Mark Callahan Mark@CallahanForOregon.com @callahan4oregon
Pennsylvania – D Katie McGinty moconnor@katiemcginty.com @KatieMcGintyPA http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteMcGinty
Pennsylvania – R Pat Toomey theo@toomeyforsenate.com @PatToomey
South Carolina – R Tim Scott info@timscott.com @votetimscott
South Carolina – D Thomas Dixon info@dixonforsc.com @dixonforsenate
South Dakota – R John Thune john@johnthune.com @johnthune
South Dakota – D Jay Williams friends@jaywilliams2016.com @jay4senate
Utah – R Mike Lee info@leeforsenate.com @MikeLeeforUtah
Utah – D Misty Snow Genevra@mistyksnow.com @mistyksnow
Vermont – D Patrick Leahy info@leahyforvermont.com @patrickleahy
Vermont – R Scott Milne info@scottmilne.org @milneforvt
Washington – D Patty Murray campmail@pattymurray.com @MurrayCampaign
Washington – R Chris Vance info@chrisvanceforsenate.com @chrisvance123
Wisconsin – D Russ Feingold press@russfeingold.com @russfeingold
Wisconsin – R Ron Johnson press@ronjohnsonforsenate.com @ronjohnsonwi http://bit.ly/PwDsVoteFeingold

These are the questions RespectAbility submitted to the campaigns. They also provided each candidate with a 10-page resource guide to help with answering these questions. View it here: bit.ly/PwDsVoteQ.

Please first start by answering YES or NO regarding if you have a plan/answer on this issue or not. Then include specific details of your plan up to 250 words for each answer. In addition, if you have more to say on an issue, please link back to the appropriate place on your website for people to learn more.

  1. Do you have designated advisors and clear processes for making decisions on disability issues? If yes, please describe.
  2. Is your campaign accessible and inclusive to people with disabilities? If yes, please describe.
  3. Do you have a proven record on improving or a plan to improve the lives of people with disabilities? If yes, please describe.
  4. Do you have a plan/commitment to reduce the stigmas about people with disabilities that are barriers to employment, independence and equality? If yes, please describe.
  5. Do you have a proven record on enabling, or a plan to enable, people with disabilities to have jobs, careers and to start their own businesses? Do you have specific strategies for youth employment for people with disabilities and/or sector strategies such as jobs and careers in STEM, hospitality, healthcare and elder care? If yes, please describe.
  6. Do you have a plan to enable students with disabilities, including those from historically marginalized communities and backgrounds, to receive the diagnosis, Individualized Education Plan (IEP) and accommodations/services they need to succeed in school and be prepared for competitive employment? If yes, please describe.
  7. Do you have a plan to reform the benefits system (Medicaid, Medicaid buy-in) to enable people with disabilities to work to the best of their capacities without losing supports they need to work? If yes, please describe.
  8. Do you have a plan to ensure people with disabilities are eligible for affordable health insurance regardless of pre-existing conditions? If yes, please describe.
  9. Do you have a plan to provide home and community-based services to people with disabilities who would rather live in their own homes instead of institutions, and have the community attendant supports they need to work? If yes, please describe.
  10. Do you have a plan to ensure that individuals with disabilities receive services that would prevent them from being swept up into the criminal justice system, divert individuals with disabilities who are arrested to treatment options in lieu of jail where appropriate, receive needed accommodations in the criminal justice process and while incarcerated, and offer appropriate re-entry support to help individuals with disabilities leaving jails and prisons re-integrate into their communities and secure jobs? If yes, please describe.
  11. People with disabilities are twice as likely to be victims of crime as those without disabilities. People with disabilities also are far more likely to suffer from police violence, partially because manifestations of disability can be misunderstood as defiant behavior. Do you have a plan to address these issues? If yes, please describe.
  12. Both children and adults with disabilities are more likely to be victims of rape or sexual assault. Do you have a plan to address this issue? If yes, please describe.
  13. Do you have a plan for veterans with disabilities facing barriers transitioning from active duty to civilian employment? If yes, please describe.
  14. Do you have a plan for accessible, affordable, integrated housing to allow people with disabilities to live in the communities where they work or are seeking work? If yes, please describe.
  15. Do you have a plan to address the lack of accessible transportation options that is a barrier to work for people with disabilities? If yes, please describe.
  16. Do you have a plan to advance innovations (i.e., assistive technologies, devices) that can help people with disabilities become more successfully employed, productive and independent? If yes, please describe.
  17. (SENATORS ONLY) In your foreign policy and national security plan, do you plan to continue America’s tradition of standing up for the rights of oppressed people, including people with disabilities, around the world? If yes, please describe.
Published in2016 Candidate QuestionnaireCongressGovernorsHow-ToSenate

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.